National Day of Prayer to be observed May 3

The National Day of
Prayer was created in 1952
by a joint resolution of
Congress, and signed into
law by President Harry S.
Truman. In 1988, the law
was unanimously amended
by both the House and
the Senate and signed into
law by President Ronald
Reagan on Thursday, May
5, 1988, designating the
first Thursday of May as a
day of national prayer. Every
president since 1952
has signed a National Day
of Prayer proclamation.
This year’s observance
will be held Thursday,
May 3, 2018.
Pastor Ronnie Floyd of
Cross Church in Springdale,
Arkansas, president
of the National Day
of Prayer, recently announced
the theme for the
upcoming National Day
of Prayer: Pray for America—

  To view more, please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.