Forty-nine participate in naturalization ceremony

    Forty-nine new citizens of the United States took the oath of allegiance during naturalization ceremonies Friday, June 5, at the Old State Capitol Historic Site in Springfield.
    United States District Judge Sue E. Myerscough presided over the ceremony. Denise Koester, Chief Deputy Clerk of the U.S. District Court, administered the oath of citizenship.
    A reception for the newly naturalized citizens and their families followed the ceremony.
    Those becoming citizens on June 5 were:
    Abla Kekeli KPadonou of Beardstown (Togo); Akossiwa Messanh of Rushville (Togo); Carlos Manuel Hernandez Amat of Beardstown (Cuba); Koldjo Agbeko Tovor of Beardstown (Togo); Davelyn Passion Coats of Beardstown (Phillipines); Aurora Montano Ramos of Beardstown (Mexico); Oscar Ayala-Ayala of Beardstown (Mexico); and Chantal Makadidi Mayimona of Beardstown (DR Congo).

  To view more, please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.