April 23, 2014

Subscriber Login

BHS Tiger football gives out special awards PDF Print E-mail

By Don Chipman
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
The BHS football squad held its Special Awards Night recently and awarded several players with awards.
The Tigers had a winning season under first-year head coach Tyler Buhlig finishing fourth in the Black Division of the Prairieland Conference, behind Elmwood-Brimfield, Knoxville, and Farmington.
The Tigers had the misfortune of having to play the Farmers twice, once in the regular season, and in their opening round contest of the IHSA Class 2A playoffs, losing both times to Farmington.
Six special awards were handed out at the banquet.
Alex Myles (Sr.), was named the BHS Most Valuable Player. Myles finished the season with 1,028 yards rushing and led the team in tackles with 45 solo stops and also was credited with 26 assists.
Gus Vermillion (Jr.), was selected as the BHS Offensive MVP, as the junior QB threw for 1,011 yards, completing 70-of-114 attempts, along with throwing for seven touchdowns, and had four passes intercepted. Vermillion, from his defensive back position, was credited with 20 solo tackles and 19 assists.
Cole Huey (Sr.), who played both fullback on offense and inside linebacker on defense, was named the Defensive MVP. From his ILB spot, Huey led the team in number of tackles (77) with 38 solo tackles and 39 assists for the O&B.
Paul Crowe (Sr.) received the Lineman of the Year Award. Crowe also was named to the first team All-Conference squad in the Prairieland Conference.
Clayton Schwalb (Jr.), who played left guard, was named as the Most Improved BHS Tiger of the Year, while Josh Watson (Sr.) was selected as the Most Dedicated Player. Watson played outside linebacker for the Tigers.


Add comment

Security code